English (United Kingdom)
Jms Multi Site, formerly joomla multisite.
Create, share multiple joomla sites in few clicks !

This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

View e-Privacy Directive Documents

Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
Go to bottomPage: 1
TOPIC: Baby Steps
Baby Steps 14 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 0
I have been a web designer for many years but have very limited experience in Joomla. I have been tasked with creating a master website that will control the template and some content for 4 slave sites.

I have purchased JMS as well as Multi Sites Content and Multi Sites Menu Item.

I have successfully installed all and they seem to be working.

I have read through the maunal and watched the first couple of tutorial videos but I am still pretty confused.

Can someone explain in laymans terms the method for creating a slave site from the master that I have running?

My impression was that I could control slave sites residing on the same dedicated server but with their own account (cPanel, FTP and so on), was I wrong?

Thanks in advance for your help.
sniklewerks
Fresh Boarder
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Baby Steps 14 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 54
The tutorial give you step by step procedure because the procedure is specific to each environment.

The reply that I will give you here is only applicable to Unix platform that accept the Symbolic Link.
In this case, you can create your first slave site in using the tutorial step 9 procedure.
This procedure consist in the creation of a slave site into a sub-directory with usage of Symbolic Links.
It avoids the configuration of the hosting provider http server.