English (United Kingdom)
Jms Multi Site, formerly joomla multisite.
Create, share multiple joomla sites in few clicks !

This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

View e-Privacy Directive Documents

Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?

Help! Problems setting up VERY BASIC slave site
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
Go to bottomPage: 1
TOPIC: Help! Problems setting up VERY BASIC slave site
Help! Problems setting up VERY BASIC slave site 13 Years, 1 Month ago Karma: 0
Hello, I'm new to this and very confused... please help me understand why I am being asked to do a new install of Joomla for the slave site, when my template had the "Share the whole site" option enabled?

I am trying to do achieve the following, which sounds like it should be a very basic scenario:

Basically, I want to do what is said here, on page 14 of the user manual:
"when [share the whole site is] enabled, it means that in fact you want to the
same DB connection than the website defined in the template. In this case,
only the “configuration.php” is copied and you can just give a new title to
your website or defined a specifiy directory for its deployment and template
folders. This may be usefull when you want share the same website between
all domains and just change the “themes” content."

I want to have a slave site that uses the SAME database as the master and MOST of the same folders, but simply uses a different templates folder. I understand (and want) to be able to set the template as, say, "Beez" in the master, and have "Beez" look one way on the master site, but differently on the subdomain because of customizations to the Beez template in the subdomain. I am attempting to install this slave site in the master site (e.g., /public_html/multisites/subdomain) and will point a subdomain at this directory.

I have tried the following: