English (United Kingdom)
Jms Multi Site, formerly joomla multisite.
Create, share multiple joomla sites in few clicks !

This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

View e-Privacy Directive Documents

Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?

Newbie question about sharing/non sharing
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
Go to bottomPage: 1
TOPIC: Newbie question about sharing/non sharing
Newbie question about sharing/non sharing 12 Years, 10 Months ago Karma: 0
Hello

I'm new to JMS and successfully installed the component on my server. The last three days I spent reading the manual and watching the tutorial videos, but nevertheless I have a hard time to understand the complexity of this software. Here are my questions:

I have a master site (www.myspace.com) and want to create several sub-sites (site1.myspace.com, site2.myspace.com a.s.o), all of them sharing the template, the users and the session data from the master site. I also want to use one database with different prefixes (mas_, sit1, sit2, a.s.o).

On all sub-sites I must have the possibility to install individual components, as well as changing the menu structure and adding site specific content.

Do I have to create those subsites with the help of a predefined template? Is there a specific tutorial available that can be understood by a newbie?

Thanks for your hints and support,

Thomas
tcgass
Fresh Boarder
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Newbie question about sharing/non sharing 12 Years, 9 Months ago Karma: 54
If you are using cPanel as administration tool, follow the video CP-04 for the way to create website in subdomains.
www.jms2win.com/en/tutorial#jms12x-CP-04

For the sharing of users between website, follow the video 16.
www.jms2win.com/en/tutorial#jms12x-16