English (United Kingdom)
Jms Multi Site, formerly joomla multisite.
Create, share multiple joomla sites in few clicks !

This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

View e-Privacy Directive Documents

Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?

How to update shared "Modules" without re-deploy
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
Go to bottomPage: 1
TOPIC: How to update shared "Modules" without re-deploy
How to update shared "Modules" without re-deploy 12 Years, 10 Months ago Karma: 0
Hello,

I'm running an extensive multisite where I have a MASTER, a master "slave" and then about 100 "children" that are based on the master, but with their own databases. The reason for this is that each child site begins its life as a duplicate of the master, but is then the content is independently maintained (with the exception of items using the multi-site menu and article sharing plugins).

The problem that I'm running into is that I don't quite understand the process to "update" changes to modules (i.e. installing new modules or upgrading software on existing modules) without redeploying a site, thus overwriting its database and any location-specific content items.

I am using symbollic links to all directories other than images and templates.

How can I push module (software) updates from the master down to the children without completely overwriting the child db's?

Many thanks!

Peter
peterlacis
Fresh Boarder
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
peterlacis MUSIC + TECHNOLOGY = PETER LACIS peterlacis Location: Boulder, CO
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: How to update shared "Modules" without re-deploy 12 Years, 10 Months ago Karma: 54
As explained in user manual chapter 8, there are differents cases: